S Vietnamese Fine Dining, Westminster, CA

$30 Vietnamese food plate?! I am soo there!

OK if you didn’t get my sarcasm…well, it was. 😛

Took my mom (and dad) here for Mother’s Day. Upon entering, there was no one at the front desk to greet us. One of the servers saw me but didn’t make an effort to get someone to come out? Hmph. Took them a few minutes for someone to come and greet. But…no biggie. Finally got a server girl who seated us and gave us 2 red roses for Mother’s Day! How sweet is that! I assumed 1 for my mom and 1 for me because I’m going to be mom someday? Sorry Dad! Haha.

S Vietnamese Fine Dining, Westminster, CA. Vietnamese food, Vietnamese restaurant

We were then served with a complimentary crispy cake (banh trang) with this yummy sweet sauce. The nice presentation made the cake even more delicious than it really is.

They don’t have a huge menu or anything, just a few courses priced from $25 and up. I know, too expensive for Vietnamese food. But think about how you are really paying for the peacefully classy decor and ambiance, the “Americanized” service (unlike ghetto Asian places where they basically just slap dishes down in front of you), and chefs who probably did go to a culinary arts school.

So here’s what we ate:

S Vietnamese Fine Dining, Westminster, CA. Vietnamese food, Vietnamese restaurant

Chilean seabass (top left), scallop with ginger and curry sauce (bottom), and noodle scampi (top right). All delicious. The scallop was unfortunately a bit salty, however. I’d recommend the other 2.

Bottom line: this isn’t a place where you’d go regularly, but perfect for special occasions when you feel it’s worth it to burn your wallets. 🙂

Leave a comment