My Vi Mi Gia, Garden Grove, CA

 

 

This was a funny day for my cousins and myself, trying to decide what to eat. I found a local noodle place called Mi La Cay and upon driving there we found out it practically vanished off the face of the earth. We were in the right plaza according to the GPS but the restaurant just wasn’t anywhere to be found. So on to plan B – My Vi Mi Gia came to our minds, although my initial thought was “Umm, that place looks dirty.” LOL!

And I was not wrong. I remember passing by this place because it’s right next to 7 Leaves Cafe which I now frequent, and I remember always thinking to myself that I probably won’t eat there just because it’s a tiny hole-in-a-wall restaurant that looks a bit ghetto. But my cousins said “the dirtier the place the tastier the food.” Ohhkaay – don’t know where they get that logic, but, whatever, I was starving. 😛

If you’re germaphobic like me, you might have to try to get over the fact that the table you’re sitting down on was not completely cleaned and you could still see soup water spots on the surface. Then you’d have to forgive the waiter for coming by and tossing napkins on the table so you can clean it yourself. No joke. Feels like I was back in Vietnam or something. BUT, I was starving, so I wiped the table so at least I wouldn’t feel so grossed out.

My Vi Mi Gia Garden Grove CA, noodle soup, noodle house, chinese vietnamese noodle, soup noodle, mi hoanh thanh, mi hai san, mi nuoc, chinese noodle house, vietnamese noodle house

We ordered the mi hoanh thanh dac biet nuoc – special house noodle soup – which consists of pork slices, shrimp, pig hearts and lungs (sounds gross but delicious), fried fatty pork, calamari, and green onions. It was super delicious so I guess I can say the food makes up for the uncleaniness. 😀

My Vi Mi Gia Garden Grove CA, dry noodle, noodle, noodle house, chinese vietnamese noodle, mi hai san, mi kho, chinese noodle house, vietnamese noodle house

We also tried the same version of the noodle bowl above but instead of soup, it was drizzled with this sweet sauce that makes everything tender and soft. I recommend both.

My Vi Mi Gia Garden Grove CA, banh da quay, rice sticks, noodle soup, noodle house, chinese vietnamese noodle, soup noodle, mi hoanh thanh, mi hai san, mi nuoc, chinese noodle house, vietnamese noodle house

While we waited for our food, we got these gio da quay, or fried rice sticks, to munch on. You can also eat these with your noodle by dipping it into the soup. I wish they were more crispy but these came out rather cold and soft.

My Vi Mi Gia Garden Grove CA, menu, My Vi Mi Gia menu, banh da quay, rice sticks, noodle soup, noodle house, chinese vietnamese noodle, soup noodle, mi hoanh thanh, mi hai san, mi nuoc, chinese noodle house, vietnamese noodle house

Other than egg (yellow) noodles, My Vi Mi Gia also serves rice noodle soup or stir fry, rice and vegetarian dishes all at very affordable prices.

My Vi Mi Gia Garden Grove CA, restaurant, vietnamese restaurant, banh da quay, rice sticks, noodle soup, noodle house, chinese vietnamese noodle, soup noodle, mi hoanh thanh, mi hai san, mi nuoc, chinese noodle house, vietnamese noodle house

And here’s what the restaurant looks like. It’s probably as big as your living room. But like I said, once you get past the… “yucky” and ghetto look and feel of this place, you might just enjoy the deliciousness of their food. 😛

My Vi Mi Gia
9790 Westminster Ave.
Garden Grove, CA 92844
(714) 636-8588

 

4 comments on “My Vi Mi Gia, Garden Grove, CA

    • Hehe yeah we were going to go there but this one was closer to where we were. Next time I’m trying that one for sure. 🙂

  1. I totally dig hu tieu at this place. My cousin also recommended this place a few months ago and ever since, I just don’t eat hu tieu at any other place in Westminster. Their fried rice is also very very tasty. I think the reason that dingy Vietnamese restaurants like these tend to have good food is because the waiters are too busy serving their never-ending throngs of customers that they just don’t have time to clean up.

Leave a comment